Daily Recaps > 08-13-2022 - 08-12-20222 - 08-11-2022 - 08-10-2022 - 08-09-2022 - view all

Hartzler Leads Effort Urging CDC to Immediately Rescind Mask Mandate on Public Transportation

Share It

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.) led an effort urging the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to immediately rescind the public order entitled, “Requirement for Persons to Wear Masks While on Conveyances and at Public Transportation Hubs.” 44 of Hartzler’s House Republican colleagues joined her in the letter which calls for the mask mandate on public transportation to promptly end.

On January 29, 2021, the CDC issued an indefinite order requiring face masks to be worn while on public transportation, including planes, trains, ride-shares, and buses. Last week, the Transportation Security Administration followed a recommendation from the CDC and extended this order on all commercial forms of mass transit until April 18th, despite the White House and Congress lifting mask mandates ahead of the State of the Union address on March 1, 2022.

In the letter, the members state:

“As federal agencies and industry leaders look to the CDC for science-based, effective guidance, it is imperative the CDC ‘trust the science’ and be honest with the American people. Now that we know we can safely live with COVID-19, it is past time to restore American freedoms and personal responsibility by ending this unnecessary mandate.”

Members of Congress joining Hartzler in this effort are Reps. John Rose, Nancy Mace, Bill Huizenga, Virginia Foxx, Mike Johnson, Ralph Norman, Matthew Rosendale, Rodney Davis, Randy Weber, Brian Mast, Bob Gibbs, Doug LaMalfa, Ben Cline, Steve Chabot, Bill Posey, Scott Franklin, Stephanie Bice, Pete Sessions, Tom Emmer, Carlos Gimenez, Dan Newhouse, Beth Van Duyne, Diana Harshbarger, Ron Estes, John Moolenaar, Rick Allen, Jeff Van Drew, Dusty Johnson, Louie Gohmert, Jeff Duncan, Tim Walberg, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Scott Fitzgerald, Cliff Bentz, Mo Brooks, Guy Reschenthaler, Jake Ellzey, Debbie Lesko, Bob Good, Ted Budd, Willam Timmons, Kat Cammack, Michael Burgess, and Jody Hice.

Read the letter in its entirety here.

Source link

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x